Skip to main content

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: bread Date: Aug 14, 2006 9:56pm
Forum: prelinger Subject: why are the reviews so bombastic?

they're just ads.why cant you just enjoy them? take the Wonderful world of fords ad, it's surposed to sell cars, not solve the prpblems of the world. if people dont stop being so bombastic, you're going to put alot people off this great website.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Christine Hennig Date: Aug 19, 2006 6:54pm
Forum: prelinger Subject: Re: why are the reviews so bombastic?

I don't mind multiple points of view on a film, but I wish reviewers would stick to reviewing a film, rather than arguing their political views endlessly. Yes, some of the films do deal with controversial political issues, and I think it's OK to talk about those issues, as long as you relate your opinions to the actual film in some way. It gets tedious to see postings that give you the idea that the poster didn't actually watch the film, but just wanted to spout off against the political opinions of another poster. These are supposed to be movie reviews, OK?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Aug 19, 2006 7:13pm
Forum: prelinger Subject: Re: why are the reviews so bombastic?

gee - try reading reviews or some of the dead shows - lol - i feel your pain - some people just dont know what a "review" means - whether in relation to music, movies, or literature. at least i know its just not us deadheads that are occasionally incompetent :-P

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: bread Date: Aug 19, 2006 11:55pm
Forum: prelinger Subject: Re: why are the reviews so bombastic?

i just hope that in 5 years time the reviews section will be a place where people review movies, not political views, and the reviews are a glorious mix of diverse opinions that allow anyone to get an idea what the film is like. without a diverse range of opinions, mankind will fail.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Steve Nordby Date: Aug 21, 2006 12:55pm
Forum: prelinger Subject: Re: why are the reviews so bombastic?

Although I've done over 200 reviews here, I find writing reviews very hard work. I interject politics and bombast when the film and the circumstances of my reviewing environment (the weather, current events, whether I've had my third beer, etc) bring that part of me out. I for one welcome whatever anyone wants to say in a review (as long as it is somewhat relevant to the film) because for me, taking the time to write is meaningful and appreciated even when I totally disagree with the opinion expressed.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: uniQ Date: Aug 26, 2006 8:36pm
Forum: prelinger Subject: Re: why are the reviews so bombastic?

(Reply to CH as well)

As DW0701 mentions, some of the reviews/reviewers don't even attempt to relate their reviews to the subject. THOSE are the ones that (IMAO) annoy everyone.

-uniQ

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: uniQ Date: Aug 16, 2006 12:40am
Forum: prelinger Subject: Re: why are the reviews so bombastic?

Part of the value (IMAO) of reviews is that you can get a good idea of what the thing is by reading everyone's point of view of it. If you want reviews in a certain way, try writing yours that way. People can then choose which to read if they dislike some of them for their bombasticity (Not sure that's a word).

All of that was a personal view...

-uniQ

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: bread Date: Aug 16, 2006 2:44am
Forum: prelinger Subject: Re: why are the reviews so bombastic?

i love having as many views as possible, but the number of bombastic reviews for ads such as Wonderful New World of Fords is worrying.do people really expect a ford ad to solve the problems of the world? but, your right, muiltible views are important, so im going to write my own review.